Frequently Asked Question CHEMICAL DEPENDENCY FAQ's
1. Do I lose my drivers license because I received a DUI?
A. No, there are a number of alternatives to license suspension. Perhaps the most frequently used is called deferred prosecution pursuant to the revised code of Washington RCW 10.05. When you choose deferred prosecution if you don't plead guilty, you don't go to jail and there is no conviction on your record. Call our office for several attorney referrals you can call that are familiar with differed prosecutions.
2. Can I get a DUI reduced to a lesser charge so i won't lose my license or go to jail?
A. Yes, DUI's are often reduced to a lesser charges such a negligent driving, reckless driving or dismissed altogether. Call our office for a attorney referral who is familiar with reducing DUI charges.
3. What happens if the court decides I need Alcohol or Drug Treatment?
A. There are a number of treatment options that range from a few days to a couple of years. None of the treatment options actually require a great deal of time. Even the ones that last a 2 years are mostly monthly meetings. One time a month for a hour or two.
4. Is there a short simple class I can take to satisfy the Court and Department of Licensing and get my drivers license back
A. Yes, there is a 8 hour class Alcohol/Drug information School (ADIS) that can be taken that will satisfy the Court and the Washington State Department of Licensing depending on your circumstances call our offices to find out more about this opportunity.
5. What is a Alcohol evaluation or Assessment.
A. This is a simple process of meeting one of our counselors for a few minutes and reviewing your drinking and driving history to arrive at a recommendation that would work for you and minimize legal sanctions. The counselor is not the police and is bound by the Federal Rules of Confidentiality and may not speak to anyone about your evaluation unless you sign a release of information. We recommend you only sign a release to your attorney.
6. Is it important to check out the facility that i want to attend?
A. We caution you to check out your treatment agencies and pick the one you feel most comfortable in. Some agency’s appear like doctor's offices full of stuffed shirt appearing professionals. Others appear homey and are staffed with people who look and talk like you and are so professional they know better than to look to professional. You should seriously consider these choices as the wrong choice could find you in a program full of professionals, technicalities and rules you may find difficult to live with and may result in your failure at the program which may then result in your going to jail or loss of your driver's license
DOMESTIC VIOLENCE & Anger Management FAQ's
1.Are domestic Violence and Anger management the same?
A. No Domestic Violence always involves past or present family or live in relationships where there is a pattern of power & control used to dominate the relationship.
A. Anger Management deals with unrelated parties where assault or display of some type has infringed on the dignity of another. Call STOP for further information.
2. How long are Domestic Violence Classes?
A. The Washington State Administration Code Requires that Domestic Violence classes last one year.
3. How long are Anger Management Classes?
A. Anger Management classes can run any length of time -
4. Can Domestic Violence or Anger Management charges be deferred by the court?
A. Yes, any misdemeanor can be deferred or stipulated order of continuance can be granted by the court. Call STOP for further information.
5. Will a domestic Violence or Anger Management charge always be on my record?
A. No, the court could dismiss it on condition that a individual does treatment or comply with an court order. Call STOP for further information.
6. Does a Domestic Violence or Anger Management problem stop me from getting a hunting license?
A. Not necessarily, That is why it is important for your lawyer to suggest a bench deferred or a stipulated order of continuance that allows the court to dismiss the charge when you have fulfilled the courts conditions.
7. Are there only certain clinics that can do Domestic Violence treatment?
A. Yes, They must be an state certified clinic with specialized personnel. Be sure to go to one of these clinics or the Court may not recognize any treatment or education you do.
8. Are the test for Domestic Violence or Anger Management the same?
A. Often time they're the same or similar. The reasons they are is because these types of test to one degree or another are testing for violence. And usually they are testing for Alcohol/Drug use which are major contributors to violence. So, many questions are the same.
9. Are there attorneys that specialize in Domestic Violence and Anger Management issues?
A. Yes, and if there are child custody issues involved, you would be smart to contact an attorney that specializes in family law and child custody issues.
10. Are Classes for Domestic Violence or Anger Management expensive?
A. No, But it is important that you go to a clinic that has a sliding scale fee schedule or an easy payment plan where your ability to pay is taken into consideration.